GEMCA's Perspective

For several years there has been a disciplinary reconfiguration in the study of the arts and literature as well as a diversification of approaches regarding the modern period. Alongside literature and the history of art other approaches have come to the fore,  such as visual studies, the study of the historical development of semiotic theories, and cultural analysis, all allowing the assembly and comparison of certain facts and cultural products which have traditionally belonged to different disciplinary fields.  On the one hand this renewal has come about within disciplines and within the historical field, in the sense of an increase in the publication of major studies and of a revival of interest in neglected areas of the period (rhetorical and semiotic studies, humanist emblems and symbolism, baroque literature, “modernities”, anthropology of the image, etc.). On the other hand the renewal has come about through the adoption of an interdisciplinary and European perspective, in the sense of an opening up to inter-artistic exchange (the relation between texts, images and music, for example) and to a broad contextualisation of the literary and artistic reality, taking into account the social and political actors of cultural life relevant to the period. Literature has thus become open to history of art and to history of science, just as history of art is bringing renewed attention to bear on the connection between text and image.
But even more fundamentally, these two disciplines are characterised by an increased interest in cultural history and historical anthropology. Objects of study such as ‘the image’ have benefited in particular, since they are located at the meeting point of the disciplines cited above and have a complexity that can only be approached from an interdisciplinary perspective.
The historical opening up has also been made from a diachronic and critical viewpoint in studies relating to the reception and to the image of the 18th century fashioned and conveyed by historians, historians of the literature and art of the 19th century. Hence, this putting into perspective has been not only disciplinary and historical, but has also been geographical in that it pays attention to networks of European circulation working through certain types of organisation that surpass national boundaries.
GEMCA’s activities lie within this tradition, taking as  a springboard the study of representations, and in particular the study of the modes (or systems) according to which significant relationships between texts and images are established, or according to which images and texts maintain relations of necessity (cognitive, anthropological, theological, hermeneutic, rhetorical, etc.).


Back to the Presentation of GEMCA
Presentation of the GEMCAProgramme of activities PublicationsOn-line ResourcesResearch projects Thesis News
Design by www.matthieumiller.be All rights reserved - Webmaster :  alessandro.metlica@uclouvain.be

Situation interdisciplinaire du GEMCA  

Depuis quelques années, se dessine une reconfiguration disciplinaire dans l’étude des arts et des lettres ainsi qu’une diversification des approches portant sur la période moderne. A côté de la littérature et de l’histoire de l’art, d’autres approches ont vu le jour telles que l’analyse culturelle, l’anthropologie de l’image,  l’histoire des cultures visuelles (visual studies) et des théories sémiotiques. Ceci a permis de rassembler, de rapprocher un certain nombre de faits et de productions, appartenant traditionnellement à des champs disciplinaires différents. Ce renouvellement s’est fait d’une part à l’intérieur des disciplines dans le sens d’un accroissement d’études majeures publiées et d’une revivification de l’intérêt pour des secteurs négligés de la période (études rhétoriques et sémiotiques, de l’emblématique et symbolique humaniste, de la littérature baroque, questionnement sur les modernités, etc.), et d’autre part dans une perspective interdisciplinaire et européenne, dans le sens d’une ouverture sur les échanges interartistiques (relation entre textes, images et musique par exemple) et sur une contextualisation large du fait littéraire et artistique, prenant en compte les acteurs sociaux et politiques de la vie culturelle propre à la période. La littérature s’est ainsi ouverte à l’histoire de l’art et à l’histoire des sciences, de même que l'histoire de l'art porte une attention renouvelée au rapport entre texte et image. Partant, cette mise en perspective n’a pas été seulement disciplinaire et historique, mais également géographique en prêtant attention aux réseaux de circulation européens, à travers certains types d’organisation qui se surimposent aux délimitations nationales.
Mais plus fondamentalement encore, ces deux disciplines sont marquées par un intérêt accru pour l’histoire culturelle et l’anthropologie historique. Des objets tels que « l’image » en ont particulièrement bénéficié, se trouvant au croisement des disciplines évoquées ci-dessus et dont la complexité ne peut être approchée que d’un point de vue interdisciplinaire.
L’ouverture historique s’est faite également d’un point de vue historiographique dans des études s’attachant à la réception et à l’image du premier âge moderne, façonnées et véhiculées par les historiens, historiens de la littérature et de l'art du XIXe et du XXe siècle.  
Les activités du GEMCA s’inscrivent dans cette ligne, prenant pour angle d’attaque l’étude des représentations, et en particulier l’étude des modalités (ou régimes) selon lesquelles s’établissent des relations signifiantes entre des textes et des images, ou selon lesquelles images et textes entretiennent des liens de nécessité (cognitive, anthropologique, théologique, herméneutique, rhétorique, etc.).

Lire la suite

Retour à la présentation du GEMCA

Présentation du GEMCAProgramme des activités PublicationsRessources en ligneProjets de recherche Thèses soutenues Annonces
Design by www.matthieumiller.be All rights reserved - Webmaster :  alessandro.metlica@uclouvain.be